It's four in the morning, and I sit in front of a computer, trying desperately to kill time till they start serving breakfast in the mess. Presuming that I am assuming right, most of you too have been here...awake in the middle of the night, without a trace of sleep, trying hard to figure out what to do with all the time that you have. I am faced with the same dilemma, and when one has a lot of time at his/her disposal, and no job at hand, weird, uncanny and bizarre thoughts start treading one's mind. It's inevitable I guess. So I was thinking about all the funny advertisements people come up with on television. Although I must accept, It irritates me to the core when a stupid guy comes in the middle of my fav movie trying to sell me some crappy washing powder. And I am of the firm opinion that never buy anything for which they advertise too much. After all, a road less trodden is less trodden for a reason. These advertisement folks would tell you what you want to hear. To be frank, Advertisement is actually legalized lying, nothing more, nothing less. But there is hardly anything I can do about it, so I started paying attention to those silly 2 min ads. Here are a few anomalies I found out in the seemingly full-proof advertisement on which a company just spent crores....
1) The Girls they show in these ads....I can’t figure out their expressions! No matter what they are selling, the faces they make, the clothes they wear, it seems they are going to have an orgasm within the next 2 mins! I am yet to understand what is it about a stupid toothpaste that makes them so excited. After all, it does creates an awkward situation when one is sitting with family, nicely watching a movie, and all of a sudden the girl starts moving seductively, in the shortest possible skirt, singing ballads of airtel.
2) There’s an ad in particular I remember. It was for a washing powder, if I am not wrong. The husband comes into the house, tired and weary. His shirt has blood stains on it. The wife sees him, and smiles. And says ,”abhie saaf ho jayega ji”. And she goes ahead with the shirt and, as expected, the shirt comes out as clean as ever! Now, never for once I doubted the quality of the washing powder throughout the ad. But if I were the wife, laundry wouldn’t have been my biggest worry at that point of time! Get rid of the body first, stupid woman!!
3) Well the third point has nothing to do with advertisements, but I feel strongly about it anyways. Cookery Shows. What’s the point? What are they trying to do??
I will never understand why they cook on TV. I can't smell it. Can't eat it. Can't taste it. The end of the show they hold it up to the camera, "Well, here it is. You can't have any. Thanks for watching. Goodbye.
I had planned to end this here, but the thoughts haven’t stopped coming. I was reading about Switzerland the other day. The swiss haven’t been in a war for the past 500 years! Pretty impressive yr, looking at us here in India. But I think it’s rather lucky for them. Ever see that little swiss army knife they have to fight with??Not much of a weapon according to me. Nail cutter, bottle openers and stuff. If the time came for a war, people would be shouting all over ,”Hey man!back off!!I got my nail cutters right here and the bottle opener battalion would be here any minute!”.
Some of you must have read the book “A brief History of Time” by Stephen Hawkings. Amazing book with theories and supporting text on space-time continuum. Well I was thinking....at times when you ask other people, “how far is the foodcourt??” and they answer ,”20 mins”. But here I find an inconsistency with Mr.Hawking’s text! This conversion of time and distance cannot be reversed!! For instance ,”when do your classes get over?” ”Around 3 kilometers”.
Hehe...looks like I can’t sleep without wasting a substantial share of my day. After all this gibberish, I feel sleepy. Do feel free to comment on my thoughts, and keep posting folks.
Ciao ppl!!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
FUCK YOU DUDE!!!
ReplyDeletedude think abt the alps in switzerland to kill time...not the army...hmmm..thinking abt army men at 4 in the morning...wat abt jolly??
ReplyDeleteGood one buddy..!! but Swiss army? 4 in the morning ???
ReplyDelete